Loading ...

Welcome to Central Library!

The University Library was established in the year 2009 and it serves the students, faculty members and staff of the university. The library has a collection of about 36,511 books. Of these, more than 2000 books are reference books (Handbooks, Dictionaries, Encyclopaedias, and coloured atlases, etc) and the rest are Textbooks and General books. Besides these, the library also has 114 CDs/DVDs and subscribes to 130 print journals. The library has been actively interacting with teaching departments and faculty and a pro-active approach to building an essential collection of resources for new programmes being introduced by the various departments have been adopted.

MONDAY - FRIDAY : 8:00 A.M - 8:00 P.M
CIRCULATION TIMINGS: 9:00 A.M - 6:00 P.M

SATURDAYS : 10:00 A.M - 6:00 P.M
CIRCULATION TIMINGS: 10:00 A.M - 5:00 P.M

SUNDAYS : 10:00 A.M - 2:00 P.M
NO CIRCULATION
NameDesignation and DepartmentE-MailRole
Prof. A. P. DashVice-Chancellorpsvc@cutn.ac.inChairman
Dr. S. BhuvaneswariRegistrarregistrar@cutn.ac.inVice Chairman
CMA. V. PalaniFinance Officerfo@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. T. SengadirProfessor, Dept. of Mathematicsdeanacademics@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. S. NagarajanDean (Students Welfare)deansw@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. S. RaviProfessor, Dept. of Library & Information Scienceravi@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. Sulochana ShekharProfessor, Dept. of Geographysulochana@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. P. VelmuruganProfessor, Dept. of Tamilpvelmurugan@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. A. SelvamProfessor, Dept. of English hodenglish@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. Bhagabana SahuProfessor, Dept. of Historyhodhistory@cutn.ac.inMember
Dr. E. M. ShankarProfessor, Dept. of Life Sciencesshankarem@cutn.ac.inMember
Dr. Prasant Kumar PandaProfessor, Dept. of Economicsprasantkumar@cutn.ac.inMember
Dr. Manash Pratim GoswamyAssociate Professor, Dept. of Media and Communicationmpgoswami@cutn.ac.inMember
Dr. K. Venkata SaravananAssistant Professor, Dept. of Physicsvenketvs@cutn.ac.inMember
Dr. R. ParameswaranLibrarianlibrarian@cutn.ac.inConvener
#

Dr. R. Parameswaran

Librarian
e-mail: librarian@cutn.ac.in
Contact: +91-9789892178

#

Dr. S. Dhanavandan

Deputy Librarian
e-mail: dhanavandan@cutn.ac.in
Tel: +91 4366-277293

#

Dr. G. Velumani

Assistant Librarian
e-mail: asstlib@cutn.ac.in
Tel: +91 4366-277330

#

Dr. M. E. Kalyani

Assistant Librarian
e-mail: kalyani@cutn.ac.in

#

Mrs. Esakkiammal

Information Scientist
email: esakkiammal@cutn.ac.in

#

Ms. S. M. Jilani

Library Assistant
email: sayedmj@cutn.ac.in
Tel: +91 4366 277293

#

Mrs. Sarasu R

Library Attendant
email: sarasur@cutn.ac.in
Tel: +91 4366 277293

#

Mr. Arumugam M

Library Attendant
email: arumugamm@cutn.ac.in
Tel: +91 9894455707

#

Mr. Abdur Rouf B

Library Attendant
email: abdurr@cutn.ac.in
Tel: +91 7418151476

#

Mr. Ashkar K

Library Attendant
email: ashkark@cutn.ac.in
Tel: +91 9496370453

The Librarian
Central Library
Central University of Tamilnadu
Thiruvarur
Contact: +91-9789892178
email: librarian@cutn.ac.in

RESOURCES

Right from its initial stages of development, the library embarked upon automating its activities. The Library implemented KOHA – an open source software package – which is an integrated library management system that supports all housekeeping operations of the Library. KOHA a very large user community spread across the globe and consists of modules on acquisition, cataloging, circulation, serials and OPAC. The entire collection of the library has been cataloged and a comprehensive database of all book resources in the library has been created. The database of is being updated on a day-to-day basis by inputting details of newly acquired books. A database of all Library patrons (members) has also been created using the KOHA package. Presently editing and updating of this database is in progress. The circulation processes of issuing books, return of books and reservation have been automated Records for all library members – students, faculty, officers and administrative staff are being migrated to the new computerized circulation system. The package has also been implemented for Acquisition and Cataloguing activities.

Book Exhibition - Part I

Book Exhibition - Part II

130

Print Journals & Magazines