Loading ...

Welcome to Central Library!

The University Library was established in the year 2009 and it serves the students, faculty members and staff of the university. The library has a collection of about 36,511 books. Of these, more than 2000 books are reference books (Handbooks, Dictionaries, Encyclopaedias, and coloured atlases, etc) and the rest are Textbooks and General books. Besides these, the library also has 114 CDs/DVDs and subscribes to 130 print journals. The library has been actively interacting with teaching departments and faculty and a pro-active approach to building an essential collection of resources for new programmes being introduced by the various departments have been adopted.

MONDAY - FRIDAY : 8:00 AM - 12:00 Midnight
CIRCULATION : 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

SATURDAYS : 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
CIRCULATION : 10:00 A.M - 5:00 P.M

SUNDAYS : 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
NO CIRCULATION
NameDesignation and DepartmentE-MailRole
Vice-ChancellorVice-Chancellorpsvc@cutn.ac.inChairman
Dr. S. BhuvaneswariRegistrarregistrar@cutn.ac.inVice Chairman
CMA. V. PalaniFinance Officerfo@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. T. SengadirProfessor, Dept. of Mathematicsdeanacademics@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. A. SelvamDean (Students Welfare)deansw@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. S. RaviProfessor, Dept. of Library & Information Scienceravi@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. Sulochana ShekharProfessor, Dept. of Geographysulochana@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. P. VelmuruganProfessor, Dept. of Tamilpvelmurugan@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. A. SelvamProfessor, Dept. of English hodenglish@cutn.ac.inMember
Prof. Bhagabana SahuProfessor, Dept. of Historyhodhistory@cutn.ac.inMember
Dr. E. M. ShankarProfessor, Dept. of Life Sciencesshankarem@cutn.ac.inMember
Dr. Prasant Kumar PandaProfessor, Dept. of Economicsprasantkumar@cutn.ac.inMember
Dr. Manash Pratim GoswamyAssociate Professor, Dept. of Media and Communicationmpgoswami@cutn.ac.inMember
Dr. K. Venkata SaravananAssistant Professor, Dept. of Physicsvenketvs@cutn.ac.inMember
Dr. R. ParameswaranLibrarianlibrarian@cutn.ac.inConvener

LIBRARY TEAM

 

E-Books (Perpetual Access)

Central Library, CUTN has subscribed to 2187 E-Books on perpetual access from several leading publishers like Sage, Cambridge University Press, World Scientific Publishing, Taylor & Francis, Oxford University Press, Springer, Emerald and De-Gruyter etc. These collections are hosted in the Library portal as digital bookshelves by publisher-wise and you may click on the cover page of the specific E-Book title to access the full-text online. Kindly note, systematic downloading of E-Books will amount to infringement of license agreement and, it may result in temporary access blockade.


Click here to find the consolidated list of e-books (Perpetual access) of all publishers.



Click here to find the user guide for accessing publisher-wise e-books.

e-shodhsindhu

List of E-Resources (Databases & E-Journal Packages) subscribed by the Central University of Tamil Nadu through eShodhSindhu Consortium
Central Library, Central University of Tamil Nadu, have advanced the web activity with the INFLIBNET subscription of 8500 core e-Journals being made available through campus network to faculty, students and research scholars.


Open Access Resources

130

Print Journals & Magazines

RESOURCES

Right from its initial stages of development, the library embarked upon automating its activities. The Library implemented KOHA – an open source software package – which is an integrated library management system that supports all housekeeping operations of the Library. KOHA a very large user community spread across the globe and consists of modules on acquisition, cataloging, circulation, serials and OPAC. The entire collection of the library has been cataloged and a comprehensive database of all book resources in the library has been created. The database of is being updated on a day-to-day basis by inputting details of newly acquired books. A database of all Library patrons (members) has also been created using the KOHA package. Presently editing and updating of this database is in progress. The circulation processes of issuing books, return of books and reservation have been automated Records for all library members – students, faculty, officers and administrative staff are being migrated to the new computerized circulation system. The package has also been implemented for Acquisition and Cataloguing activities.

For more details Contact:
The Librarian
Central Library
Central University of Tamil Nadu
Thiruvarur-610 005, Tamil Nadu, India
Contact: +91-4366-277484
Email: librarian@cutn.ac.in