

# Department of Music School of Performing Arts and Fine Arts Central University of Tamil Nadu, Thiruvarur



&

## **DKJ FOUNDATION, CHENNAI**

Invite You for a Unique Musical Performance

# KAMALAMBA NA VA VARNA KRTIS

By the disciples of Sangeetha Kalanidhi Sri D K Jayaraman

On 25<sup>th</sup> October 2018, from 5 pm – 7.30 pm

at Conference Hall, CUTN Guest House,
Nagakkudi Campus (Residential),
CUTN

### **Department of Music, CUTN**

The Department of Music was established in 2017 and offers a four year under graduate programme (B.P.A Music) and M.Phil. & Ph.D. degrees in Music. Prior music knowledge is not necessary for the BPA programme and the student is trained from the fundamentals of South Indian Classical Music. The curriculum is designed according to the Choice Based Credit system (CBCS), wherein training is given in Classical Music and other genres like, Devotional songs, Folk songs, Patriotic songs and songs for Dance and Harikatha. Gradual increase in the content of the Classical Music training is prescribed in eight semesters. In the third year, a student has an option to learn any of the instruments, viz., Veena, Violin or Mridangam. Under electives, they can also learn basics of Hindustani Music, Western Music, Regional Music of India and Music and Technology, Indian Culture and Sanskrit and Dravidian scripts. In the final semester, he/she is trained to perform a Classical Concert for a duration of one hour. Thus a student is made to shine with multi-faceted knowledge of Music. Further Music is also extended as CORE and GENERIC ELECTIVES to the students of other Departments of CUTN, which has drawn a large number of students showing interest to learn music.

The Department also offers full time M.Phil. and Ph.D. degrees in Music, for which a master's degree in Music is the basic eligibility criteria. The UGC - JRF candidates have a direct entry and admission to Non–JRF category is through CUCET.

#### The DKJ Foundation

One of the great maestros of South Indian Classical Music in 20th century is Sangeetha



Kalanidhi Sri D K Jayaraman. He is the brother of Sangeetha Kalanidhi Smt. D K Pattammal, one of Women Stalwarts of South Indian Classical Music. D K Jayaraman was known for his unstinting efforts for propagating South Indian Classical music to the common man. On his demise in January 1991, his disciples formed the DKJ Foundation. It was

felt that the time and energy DKJ spent in bringing out a co-ordinated team of musicians - his disciples, should not go a waste and the learning should not stop or get dissipated. The disciples of DKJ continue to serve the society, by means of organising music programmes and keeping the tradition and style of DKJ alive. They also identify and provide platform to

promote young and upcoming talent, and honour senior deserving musicians every year. DKJ Foundation has conducted Eye donation and Blood donation camps. The eyes of DKJ were donated to Sankara Netralaya, Chennai, as wished by him.

#### Kamalambha Navavarnam

Sri Muttuswami Dikshita, one of the Trinity of South Indian Classical Music, was born in Thiruvarur in 1885. He has composed a set of 11 compositions in Samskrta, on Goddess Kamalamba of Thiruvarur, called the *Navavarna krti-s*. These are based on the "*Sricakra*" according to the *Srividya* form of *Sakti* worship. The *Sricakra* is a symbolic representation of 9 interlocking triangles that surround a central point, called the





bindu (a dot) in the middle. Besides nine compositions for each avarna (circle), the set consists of a dhyana (invocation) and a mangala (benediction) krti. The songs are set to the eight Vibhakti-s (declensions) of Samskrta Grammar. Each song describes Devi as a form of a particular yogini, which is found embedded in the lyrics. These songs are said to be highly

powerful and if sung or listened to, bring prosperity, good health, *Jnana* (intelligence) and help attain Salvation. The Songs to be performed are:

1. Kamalāmbikē - Tōḍī - Rūpaka - (dhyāna)

2. Kamalāmbā samrakṣatumam - Ānandabhairavi - Miśra cāpu

3. Kamalāmbām bhajarē - Kalyānī - Ādi

4. Śrī Kamalāmbikayā - Śaṅkarābharaṇa - Rūpaka

5. Kamalāmbikāyai - Kāmbhōji - Aṭa

6. Śrī Kamalāmbikāyāḥ - Bhairavi - Jhampa

7. Kamalāmbikāyāstava - Punnāgavarāli - Tiśra Ēka

8. Śrī Kamalāmbikāyām -Sahānā - Tripuṭa

9. Śrī Kamalāmbikē avāva - Ghaṇṭā - Ādi

10. Śrī Kamalāmbā jayati - Āhiri - Rūpaka

11. Śrī Kamalāmbikē - Śri rāga - Khaṇḍa ēka (mangala)

